Saturday, July 6, 2013

We have a winner!

HarrisonThe Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison has been elected to his second term as president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Harrison received 4,262 votes, or 66 percent of the 6,432 ballots cast. Of the other two nominees for president, the Rev. Dr. David P.E. Maier received 1,906 votes, or nearly 30 percent, and the Rev. Dr. Herbert C. Mueller Jr. received 264, or 4 percent.  Votes were cast by some 78 percent of the total 8,201 district delegates who were eligible to vote.

Though some think the 30% for Maier a significant vote against Harrison, I disagree.  Many congregations are not at district conventions so that diminishes the number of eligible voters already.  I think 78% is credible for a rather radical shift from convention election to parish centered one.  This was also the first electronic election and there may have been tech issues for some voters.  I also disagree that Maier had no PR in this campaign since the point of his nomination seems less to win than to steal a margin of victory from Harrison.  Also those for his election did not seek a national campaign with direct appeal but to rally their (moderate/missional) base -- which they did under the radar mostly.  I think Harrison can take this as a mandate to continue his direction but I expect a more serious challenge 3 years from now unless the climate changes.

No comments: